Committees & Councils

Pastoral Council

The Pastoral Council has 7 – 9 members selected for their leadership abilities, strong faith life, perspectives on pastoral issues and volunteer activities. While it has no formal decision-making power, the Pastoral Council manages the parish’s response to key issues impacting Saint Gregory the Great. It serves as the focal point for establishing the parish’s vision, defining what the parish stands for as a community, gathering parishioner views, and researching issues.


  • Chairperson – open
  • Mark Gelbmann: Co-Chair
  • Cherie Monson: Secretary
  • Mary Felix
  • Liz Long
  • Joleen Pierce
  • Karee Malterud
  • Fr. Matt Shireman

Finance Council

This group of parishioners is responsible for maintaining the parish’s financial health, approving the annual budget and planning its financial future.


  • Barb Miller: Chairperson
  • Greg Haas
  • Angie Iverson
  • Craig Malterud
  • June Cierzan
  • Mary Felix – Bookkeeper
  • Fr. Matt Shireman

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has three parish members, including our pastor, Father Matt Shireman, in addition to Archbishop Bernard Hebda and Fr. Charles Lachowitzer, the vicar general. Rich Anderson and Mark Bossard have been appointed by the pastor and approved by the Archbishop. As trustees, they assist with legal and fiduciary matters and provide oversight on the Archdiocese’s behalf.


  • Rich Anderson
  • Mark Bossard
  • Fr. Matt Shireman

Cemetery Committee


  • John Kunza (chair)
  • Joyce Doyle (sexton)
  • Rich Ohmann (grounds caretaker)
  • Jan Dusbabek
  • Ron Perrault
  • Mike Miller
  • Fr. Matt Shireman
St. Gregory The Great